"Keep it simple, don't be basic"

The Destination S01E01 The first step

"Keep it simple, don't be basic" - Concrete Zebra of 'CraftMaster Productions'

The Issue:

I'm a firm believer that a journey with no destination is simply wandering, and one of the best practices a person can develop is to go through life with a sense of intentionality. Having an idea of where you want to end up in whatever endeavor you choose to pursue is a powerful tool. The second challenge, however, is knowing where or how to start. This was an issue I recently ran into. I've done the planning, I've mapped out my portfolio site, and I even narrowed down the projects I'm going to add to my portfolio.

What I didn't count on was running into a brick wall when it came to creating my homepage. After countless hours of brainstorming and looking up the hottest CSS tricks, I came to realize that I may be overthinking things a bit. That's when I was reminded of the words of the music producer Concrete Zebra: "Keep it simple, don't be basic". As a software engineer early in my journey, I've realized that sometimes the best solutions don't have to be some grandiose gimmick. Sometimes, the solution I need is the simplest one.

Instead of some fancy parallax or tricked-out animation, I realized the best thing for me to do is to embrace my position as a young developer and take the foundational skills I've learned and apply them in a creative way. Any person can throw a thousand colors at a wall and call it art, but a true artist can take what little they have and create a masterpiece.

Chef's Kiss

Keep it simple, don't be basic.