The Shed S01E00

Welcome to The Shed

Woodshedding or Shedding - a term commonly used by musicians to mean rehearsing a difficult passage repeatedly until it can be performed flawlessly.-Richard Cole; Ed Schwartz, Ed. "Dictionary on Music"

Woodshedding, to shed, shedding - the place where you work out the techniques that form the foundation of your improvisational ability. - Paul Klemperer, Texas-based jazz educator

Welcome to the shed people! This series of posts will record the growth of my technical foundations. Practice makes perfect, or in the words of Orlando Jones from the film Drumline "WHY DO WE REHEARSE?!?!".

My desire for this series is to be a reference guide not only to be used by those who come after me, but to also be used as a personal source of perspective. So often I find myself looking back on the experiences I've had that made me who I am as a person and as a developer, so I believe that this could be a benefit to someone starting out or already in the strides of their career.

So please, come, stay a while, and let's work on building a house with a solid foundation.